The Asian Banker Leadership Achievement Awards  
  About The Programme  

The Asian Banker Leadership Achievement Awards Programme is widely acknowledged by the financial services industry as the highest possible accolade available to professionals in the industry as recognised in the Asia Pacific, Middle East and Africa regions today. 

Until these awards, most award recognitions were for institutions and the role of individual excellence in an increasingly complex industry was not sufficiently understood. We know today that the shape and direction of the largest institutions and the smallest processes are dependent on the calibre of the individuals entrusted to them, and we recognize them through this award programme.

The programme is anchored by a panel of global leaders and subject matter experts as advisors. The selection process is a rigorous one, completed over several months and involving feedback and interviews with all constituents who are in a position to comment on the candidates. All of these make this a world-class evaluation programme, and the insights gained from the programme are published in an annual report.

The award ceremony is held in conjunction with The Asian Banker Summit, undisputedly the largest annual gathering of professionals in the financial services industry in the Asia Pacific region.

The Goals of this Programme

These awards are designed with the following goals:

  1. To underscore the role of strong and sustainable leadership of the complex organisations that constitute the financial services industry
  2. To generate an important platform for dialogue on the values of true leadership, governance, values, skills, vision and the sustainability of the enterprise
  3. To provide benchmarks of exemplary leadership for future generations of potential leaders so that the industry as a whole can develop in a sustainable manner.

The leadership awards made include:

  1. The William “Bill” Seidman Awards for Lifetime Achievement in Leadership in the Financial Services Industry
  2. The Asian Banker Leadership Achievement Awards for the Asia Pacific region (once every three years)
  3. The Best Managed Bank Awards
  4. The Asian Banker Promising Young Banker Awards (once every three years)

The Regions Covered

The programme is intended to be global, and we hold all of the nominees for the awards against global benchmarks and best practices. By building experience and nurturing relationships, we have been gradually extending our main coverage from the Asia Pacific region to Central Asia and Middle East. We also recognise outside the region those global leaders whose unique capabilities are truly second to none, applying concise leadership skills to vast, incredibly complex institutions that span continents.

Guests of Honour at previous ceremonies

The awards are always presented by noted leaders, either from prominent local officials or from inspirational figures from the financial services industry, all befitting the dignity of the award itself.  Past guests of honour include Mr Al Gore,former vice president of the United States of America and Nobel Laureate, Senator Paul Sarbanes, author of the Sarbanes-Oxley Act and former chairman, U.S. Senate Committee on Banking, Housing, and Urban Affairs, United States, Mr Kaspar Villiger, former President and former Finance Minister of Switzerland, current chairman of UBS, Switzerland, Sir Brian Pitman, former Chairman, Lloyds TSB, United Kingdom, Mr Frederick Ma, Secretary for Financial Services and the Treasury, Hong Kong, SAR, Mr Thanong Bidaya, Minister of Finance, Thailand, Dr Doediono, Coordinating Minister for Economic Affairs, Indonesia.

For more information on the awards programme, please contact:

Foo Boon Ping
Tel: (65) 6236 6523

Important Links
Related Events

  About Us        Contact Us Copyright 2012, TAB International Pte. Ltd. All Rights Reserved.